Our deletion functionality is fully compliant with the requirements for user deletion as outlined by GDPR. When you delete participants, our system will delete within 30 days all PII that has been stored for those participants within our system and its subprocessors. You can retrieve a full list of the PII stored for a specific participant using the Lookup Using PII API method.
Participants can be deleted from your program either individually or in bulk. Please note that deletions are permanent and that share links, referrals, and analytics may be impacted.
Do Not Track
Do Not Track is a configuration option during participant deletion. If selected, the deleted participant cannot be re-registered in our system. Any attempts to recreate the participant will fail.
Preserve Empty Accounts
Preserving empty accounts is a configuration option that you can use when deleting participants in bulk, via REST API, or via GraphQL. To preserve empty accounts, include the
preserveEmptyAccountfield with your deletion file or call.
The SaaSquatch REST API provides two methods to delete participants:
Go to the Participants page and find the participant you want to delete.
Select their name to open their participant profile.
Select the Delete button below their name.
Choose whether to add the participant to the Do Not Track list. More information is available below.
Select the final delete button if you are sure you want to delete the participant.
See our guide to deleting participants in bulk.
Multiple areas of the system may be impacted as a result of deleting a participant.
When a participant is deleted, all of their PII (including their referral code) is deleted as well. Share links work differently—the share link itself is not deleted, but its association with a specific participant is removed. The deleted participant’s share links will no longer attribute a referral, but will still allow newly-referred participants to visit your program’s landing page.
If deleted participants have made referrals or been referred themselves, then the referral history displayed in other participants’ widgets or microsites will change. In these cases, the referral still counts for reward purposes, but visually the referral will be shown as having come from an anonymous participant.
Analytics are collected as participants perform actions like loading widgets, sharing links, or making referrals. When participants are deleted, all analytics attributed to them are removed, which will affect the statistics displayed on the Analytics page in the Admin Portal.
Deleted participants no longer appear on the Participants page. If the deleted participant was part of a referral, then the referral table on the other participant’s profile will show that a referral exists, but that it was from a deleted participant. If a reward had been given as part of the referral, then the rewards table similarly indicates that the referral is linked to a deleted participant.